Bamboo in Concert

After rushing from Moorgate station to Hammersmith station, after literally flying from the station, after trying to survive the busy streets all the way to the Apollo theatre all while manoeuvring through an open bag, tangled earphones, the sounds of my boots clacking on the cement as I frantically fish for my ticket, the sound of Bamboo’s opening of Noypi brought me back to life, washing me with much needed euphoria and that “Eff yeah!!!” feel.

If you think Bamboo sounds energetic and pure rakista on YouTube or on your playlist, then you are NOWHERE near ready for the kind of energy he’ll bring to you face to face, especially when he’s just three rows away from you. I’m a huge fan of his 2011 album No Water, No Moon and I grew up hearing his earlier work around the house but I never really geeked out about his music until that night.

I missed about the first hour and a half of the concert but managed to squeeze in about six more songs, some covers and some original. I’m just glad he got to sing I Want It All from his latest album, the same song I was listening through the entire day.

This may be the romantic poet in me fresh from workshop, but I know there was a reason why I caught up to Noypi after what I’ve been through that day. To remember where I came from, the values and strengths I was born to have under my sleeve and to use them responsibly and at my disposal to carve out a future that will bring forth pride to both mine and my motherland’s veins. Missing the first hour of the concert because of something that’s only going to propel me closer to my dreams, fighting through circumstance and living exactly what that song was all about was all worth it.

Here’s a group shot taken, by the way! Find us! We’re there!!! Thanks Spicy Lemon!

Hi to my #salabuang fam!!! Roll call from left to right Junatan, Ashleh, Minard, Idwen aka Tekla and Kimberleh. Woo!!! I’ve finally cured my pet peeve for big concerts and small spaces, which are all too often wet with beer and rude people. To Bamboo, we were waiting for you at your hotel!

Pic courtesy of Ate Precious!

Web Map: Bamboo Mañalac

Facebook: Bamboo Music Live

Twitter: @bamboomuzaklive

Instagram: @bamboomuzaklive

Leave a Reply

