“Crush/ed”

the last fall hit me on the head
and that should have been my lesson
learnt
but my head wasn’t split open?
so why should this hurt me?

there is a light
within those portals
mortals call your eyes
that make it so impossible
to correlate your name
with the breaking of hearts

and even after your third no
to my promises to love you
with all the strength my old dog of a heart,
it persists to bounce back;

you remain true
a combatant against my blues

and even if the paths
don’t let us walk the same one forever
and maybe one day someone will
wake me up to love them instead

but for the time being
you’ll forever be
my poetry pedestal
my coloured dream come true
my antidote against the winter monster

and there it is
my heart is yours
my breath caught in you

3 thoughts on ““Crush/ed”

Leave a Reply

