“Alone No More”

In celebration of the hashtag #SentiSaturday, here’s an old poem from 2011 Troy!

I used to be scared to look behind my shoulder
To look at the eyes of the memories that constantly haunted me
Each getting stronger as they grow older
Fuelling my demands to be free.

Some people are meant to be part of your life
For only a short time, however
Some are willing to work hard and strive
For a time forever.

If being alone taught me a lesson,
It’s that I’ve learnt to stop guessing,
To quit the wondering and assuming,

If every step I take,
Will lead me to a better tomorrow
Because now I’ve moved on from my yesterdays
And I’m taking hold of my own actions,
Ready to take on whatever is thrown at my direction.

Leave a Reply

