“Dear Friend”

So much for I love you
if fate isn’t willing to listen,
willing to help me with the ride. Guess
loving someone wrong left me undone.

Remember when
you asked me about you because you wanted her?
I had to laugh and remind you
that she was never really mine.

She’s so damn crazy about you. How do I know?
Never seen her this happy. And why not?
Ten times funnier, stronger, braver,
you’ll always be the man I’ll never be.

And while from outside the heaven
only you two are allowed in,
I feel glass shards and shattered dreams
raining down on me,

and if you can hear me right now, I beg you
please don’t stick around, just make sure
you’ll take care of the girl I’ll forever love
and she’ll take care of the friend

that gave me back the life I had before.

 

Also featured on my new iBooks ebook Lost in London; check it out now! Thank you!

One thought on ““Dear Friend”

Leave a Reply

