New short story out via Thought Collection!

Three years ago, when I was long haired and was stuck in classrooms in William Morris Sixth Form in Hammersmith, I was assigned to write a piece of writing that inspired me when listening to a specific song as an assignment for our weekly meeting for writer’s club (Shoutout to Naz Jamal, one of the harshest critics who has ever read my writing; you taught me more than you know). The song that I chose was Matt Duncan’s melancholic and quite prophetic “Beacon”.

With that in the cauldron, plus two more years of editing, endless rewrites of the plot, the tangible structures, the removing and adding of countless characters and sticking to my inherent stubbornness to make it something I want, the end result is a short story titled “Gold Stars”, now published through Thought Collection Publishing’s literary column webzine.

http://www.thoughtnotebook.org/anm/artbase/?a=392&z=1

The story follows the psyche of a character who is notable for his strong grip on nostalgia and always holding onto memories, something that I personally am in real life. It is a collection of memories that highlights the good times, which simultaneously plays a huge part in his present, once those dots are connected together.

I do hope you like it and support it by posting it everywhere you can and just sharing the good vibes!

Huge thanks to Mark Castillo who gave his critique on this piece, I believe that it is through your wisdom that paved the way for my story to reach where it is today, and to Katie Lahr for sharing the vision. I can only be excited for what comes up next for you and your projects.

PS. Thought Notebook next issue, titled “Parallelism of Cyclicality” comes out on the 1st of June! Hit this link to find out more!

Happy weekend to you all,

– Troy

Leave a Reply

