My Top 5 Haley Reinhart Songs

Haley Reinhart will always remind me of the kind of summer where golden sunlight blasts through closed eyelids, your psyche drenched in a beer buzz and everything is fun and carefree. Her singing voice is both creamy and meaty at will, it can twist and turn on itself and she’s got the songwriting talent to go with it, as she is credited as the songwriter for most of the songs that she’s known for. Awesome!

I believe to this day that her music and throwback style is the catalyst that pushed me into believing that I am not from this generation.

So to commemorate her rendition of “Creep” alongside the viral jazz band Postmodern Jukebox reaching five million views as well as her reaching number #1 on the UK iTunes Jazz Charts, I will show you my top five Reinhart tunes that you need if you want a playlist that’s as sweet as honey.

5. Sweet Something

This 1920s-style unreleased song didn’t make the official cut of her 2012 album “Listen Up!” but it certainly made its way to eager fans’ hands. Short and sweet, there were rumours of this meant to be an opener for her second album, which I hope still will come to fruition in her new EP coming soon.

4. My Cake

It’s one of those songs that you just know is a Haley Reinhart original. A female-empowering song that can fit right either in big stadium concerts of intimate gigs for that slinky show number. My favourite version of this song is when Haley improvises, especially with equally talented musicians such as Casey Abrams, Mark Ballas and Dylan Chamber. Hoping this song will be on the new EP, too!

3. Free

The song that got me reeled in Reinhart for good. Prior to this, I had only heard of her take on “I (Who Have Nothing)” during her run on American Idol, and from catching up on then new episodes of 90210, I stumbled upon her once again, this time interacting with Jessica Lowndes aka Adrianna Tate-Duncan. The music video to this was too cool, as well. The ’50s vibes are true and alive there!

2. Creep (Radiohead original)

If you could check my iPhone’s most played songs, this song will definitely be one of the top ten. I wasn’t a big fan of Radiohead and I will admit I’m still not, but this song got me checking them out, what with the peculiar storyline and all that. My favourite part is the final chorus: sublime.

1. Follow Me (I’m Right Behind You)

A lazy listener can see this as a fun and trippy song but to those who will encrypt the words in between the psychedelic sound it boasts, it’s actually a treasure trove of lyrical poetry that can leave a mark on you or make a very good Facebook status, and that makes a great song for me. For those who are caught in a confusion game of signs and subtle hints, this is for you.

Congrats to you Ms Haley! Thank you for always being my summer singer!

– Troy

Featured image above originally from the LA Times website.

One thought on “My Top 5 Haley Reinhart Songs

Leave a Reply

