“At My Strongest”

Drums thumping with the heartbeat,
Adrenaline racing down, up, up, down,
Construction made out of brick and concrete,

Human enough to paint this town.

Sure, I’ve left promises behind,
Crossed thousands of lines around the box, but
Have I truly lost my mind? No, I’m just

Far from the failure you had to endure, because
Everything’s clearer once you sober down from the
White lie that just got darker and darker.

I’m now at my strongest,
Without any of the words you used to shoot,
Without any of the scaly hands to wrap around me,
Without any of the bittersweet memories,
Without your shadow tower over me,
Without the bittersweet memories

I’m finally free.

 

 

Originally a poem from my poetry book Lost in London. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

