Oxford Bound

Holidays from work and the usual world gives me a chance to unwind and explore the rest of the world, expanding my horizons, and in this case, meeting friends and just having old-fashioned good time.

I always say the fresh air in Oxford was a tad too fresh for my liking and it actually causes me to prefer London air more.

Oxford Tube

The Oxford Tube is always a comfortable ride. I just can’t believe their timetable. They come every TEN minutes?! A stereotypical Londoner would have died waiting.

image2

This is what I see upon first arrival to the high street in Oxford, just past Headington and Oxford Brookes University. The vibes are so chill. Reminds me of Bournemouth, but just ten times colder.

Other than getting to spend time with a couple of good friends, there were a couple of highlights that Oxford offered me, making the entire trip that much more memorable for both my memories and my tastebuds.

Chatime

image3

As an avid bubble tea drinker, it’s always a treat to find out a new brand. I came in expecting to have my usual green apple milk tea, but was pleasantly surprised to know that they have my first favourite fruit flavour (alliteration overload): Lemon!!!

And I have to say, I was happy that I accidentally ordered large. The lemon flavour mixed with the orange wedge and the really chewy tapioca bubbles were delicious! I also really like how specific they are with the amount of ice and sugar that you’d like on your drink; thank you for satisfying the OCD man in me!

G&D’s

Have you ever had a giant brownie that tasted very homemade? How about a very warm apple pie next to ice cream? We did at G&D’s, and it was amazing! Their brownies just made it to my list of best brownies ever, next to Caffè Nero’s Belgian brownies, Suncrest’s Fudgee Bars from the Philippines and Sainsbury’s mini brownie bites!

image11

I’ve also never had apple pie or ever was into ice cream, but I can still remember the taste of those two mixed together into one dish, and it was just as heavenly. Thank you Ayaan and Sophie!

I was secretly wondering why my friends were so excited to take me to G&D’s (which I thought was spelt Jeundi’s in my head until we got to the actual place), but after tasting their food and savouring their chill vibes, I finally get it. They’re really worth coming back to, as well! Scroll down for more photos.

image7

Basically, I was in Cloud 9 when I saw these giant treats. Sorry Sophie for having to witness my very unmanly gasp.

Above are a couple shots of the high street at night. I couldn’t take more because Ayaan and I were too busy catching up on everything and laughing about everything, just like how we were when we were twelve and wearing painfully blue uniforms.

I have to say, though, the high street there has a lot of food and stores to offer! Calling H+C alumni group!!! We have found our next destination!

Can’t leave without a group shot! Thank you Ayaan and Sophie for making my holiday from work fun and refreshing and for also cooking my first mac and cheese, the spices made it ten times better. Can’t wait to see you guys again!

– Troy

Leave a Reply

