Discover Dogs 2014

When my parents and I first moved in our flat in central London, I’ve always wanted to attend Discover Dogs, one of London’s biggest dog shows for two reasons: the exhibition centre was just minutes away from my house (I always passed by it on my way home from school) and, well, DOGS. DOGS!

Fast forward to eight years later and one of my wishes just came true after a job and finally clearing out schedules. Thankfully I got to go this year because when it was announced that they were going to hold Discover Dogs there at Earls Court Exhibition Centre for the last time before moving to ExCel. Perfect timing!

Thank you to my Dad who agreed to come along! I see he also enjoyed playing with all of the big mountain dogs!

Good ol’ Earls Court! You never fail to be a haven of entertainment.

Shih Tzu

Here is a very pretty and very tired Shih Tzu. I get you.

Deerhound

Deerhound smiling for the camera!

We passed by an Afghan Hound who wore a very interesting collar. The way it stared at us, it’s as if it knew the colour of my soul.

I met one of four very inquisitive Standard Poodles! I forgot to ask for her name but her eyes were enough to know that she wanted to be best friends with me. Believe it or not, their handlers spoke French to them, too!

I’ve always had an affinity for this breed of dog for some reason. Ever since I saw one in the 1990s movie Babe 2: Pig in the City, poodles have become my unashamedly favourite breed, alongside the Borzoi and Schnauzer. They’re one of the most misunderstood dog breeds, and that makes me like them even more. I’d suggest you do some research on their history and forget their “spoilt and sassy” stereotypes.

And have you ever petted a poodle? Like petting a walking cotton ball!

Even the decoration in the booths are worth taking a picture! Schnauzer heads are always fashionable.

1390695_10204102224409387_3023489924304126721_n

As expected, the forever aloof Borzoi seemed to not mind the humans passing by, not at all impressed. They even left their booth early!

10154953_10204102223769371_8729854913960717480_n

Border Collie says hi to me, too!

10412002_10204102222169331_2889505725292636110_n

Belgian Shepherd triplets.

Thank you, Discover Dogs! You’ve been a very fun and educational experience. I might even come next year to ExCel and see the next group of dogs willing to greet me and be petted! Happy Sunday!

– Troy

Leave a Reply

