Bournemouth Bound

It’s always being said but sometimes taken lightheartedly, but spontaneous trips usually make the best of memories and work better than those trips that are planned far in advance; those road trips that you go on a whim and everyone just goes with the flow.

Thanks to my friends’ fast skills in searching hotels and coaches, I was able to catch up with them to their improv trip to Bournemouth Pier. Shout outs to @itzfuckinryan and Mike whose Twitter I don’t know haha.

There are many reasons why I enjoyed this trip, and one of them was being able to put my preconceptions about traveling on a coach to rest.

I had a comfortable experience contrary to what I thought on the way, and I think everyone else did as well judging by some of the people’s sleeping faces, something my friend Juds would point out and say nga-nga!

The picture on the left is one of the few good pictures that I took while I was on the coach. I was lacking my usual optimism to take good pictures because I was still sleepy. I am currently what they call an iPhoneographer, but do watch out when I get my hands on a professional camera!

We got to the hotel JUST before the heavy rain started pouring. Check out that psychedelic clock!

Visiting 60 Million Post Cards for a pint and a crunchy hotdog was a highlight. I like the whole hipster feel with the graffiti and provocative artwork everywhere, the comfy tables and the food that my friends saw as a good source of inappropriate jokes. They even played Heaven by The Walkmen! That alone easily converted me into a fan. I promise to come back with my other food-lovin’ friends.

10531200_10203225091481612_1204521413_n

I was somewhere in that shot. (courtesy of @itzfuckinryan photography)

It was my first time walking on white sand as I grew up rarely going to beaches, so I was a little bit more excited than everyone else to be walking on the Bournemouth Pier, where I secretly pretended to be a camel in the Sahara desert.

10475486_10203225152643141_1784598823_n

Featuring my former English student and one of the coolest Ilonggos I’ve ever met. I know just a few, so pagbigyan nalang haha. Be flattered that the bartender thought you were under twenty five! Thank you for the @desperadosbeer!

10524422_10203225101441861_239202524_n

I was so thankful to have captured that shot. I now understand.

high street

How did that ball get there? Anyway, the high street here is so cosy. They even had a sweet Waterstone’s branch but I think their books are mostly about their local area as I saw a lot of books on nature and seasides on the display window. When on holiday!

10508509_10203225113442161_1058035633_n

I like this arcade game where you put in 10p coins on the horse that you bet on. I actually won a lot of coins back! Picture over at the arcade near the Bournemouth Pier.

Maybe it’s because I had my mind set on HOLIDAY, but Bournemouth really got me relaxed and energised again. The sun was just right, the people were so mellow and my soul agrees with it all.

I feel like if I were to spent a few more days here drinking barrels of beer, taking pictures of clouds and having sand and coins stuck inside my shoes, I’ll probably forget everything I know about technology and other human-made whatnots.

What time does the next coach leave?

– Troy

Leave a Reply

