Get “Lost in London”

One of the biggest highlights of my writing life so far has been the opportunity to live, write, edit (for a lot of hours) and eventually self-publish my first ever collection of poetry appropriately titled Lost in London.

With poems written in the middle of Romford, bus hopping sessions around Putney to Kingston to being stuck a crummy classroom in Hammersmith, this project has been under construction for almost three years: a very crazy time that gave me memories that I will never forget, good and bad experiences I’m grateful to have lived through and the most supportive and intelligent friends to survive it all with.

In this book are poems that I’ve written through the love stories, the roadtrips and food trips, the dysfunctional friendships and the rainbows of hangovers that we unwittingly stumbled upon due to the intoxication of youth, with matching photos of the landmarks familiar to me and numerous words of wisdom that rung in my head over and over again. Lost in London talks about that time in your life where you’re so lost and so engulfed in your teenage lives, probably broke, and all you have is your heart on your sleeve, an open mind and a willingness to explore the world with people who are in the exact same place.

Thank you to…

  • My English teachers Tom for telling me about Blurb and its wonderful services and Naz for your constant support for my poetry through emails and writer’s group. I will always remember your Monday double poetry lessons, even the ones I slept through.
  • Mommy, Daddy for reading and my sisters Ate Aiya and Ate Michelle for the overseas love. Your support means the entire world to me. Thank you for encouraging me to reach all of my dreams, no matter how strange they sound to you.
  • To my London family, my nomads, my brothers and sisters for all you have done. To Ayaan, Josh, Juds, Ate Jyds, Rydze Khalifa, Ate Kris, Val and Tine. Thank you for letting me use your words for the book.
  • My Ate Precious for being one of the coolest photographers ever! Our photo shoots consist of constant Costa breaks, chismisans and super cool picture picture moments in Richmond Park. To Barry “Bamboo” for making us laugh and being our supporter and Madam Sampaguita Girl Juds again for making dinner and movie night after the shoot! The best kayo!

Web Map:

@BlurbBooks link

Give my book some love, Internet style:

Facebook page

Goodreads page

If you’d like a small preview, check out some of the poems now via my Wattpad account!

– Troy

PS, watch out in the coming summer for my book’s accompanying video trailers ft. me and the stellar videographing styles of my great friend and Leo sister @preciousheartsu!

Leave a Reply

